run through

Marc Jacobs, Tom Ford, and Tory Burch Nab CFDA Noms

Tom Ford’s short-n-curlies.Photo: Getty Images

Last night the Council of Fashion Designers of America unveiled the nominees for their 2008 awards, the Oscars of the fashion world. You’ll never guess who got nominated for womenswear — Marc Jacobs. Surprise! He’s in the running with Calvin Klein head designer Francisco Costa and the boys of Proenza Schouler, Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough. Oh, and you know those Tory Burch flats everyone had last year? Well maybe their oversaturation triumphant ubiquity meant it was time for Tory to earn some recognition, which she did with a nod in the accessories category. She’s up against Michael Kors and — surprise! — Marc Jacobs.

And remember how Thom Browne gave Cathy Horyn “the long-awaited thrill of seeing two men share the same trouser leg” at his February show? Well, his antics resulted in a nod for menswear designer of the year, which he won once in 2006. This year he’s up against perennial chest exposer Tom Ford, who won the womenswear award in 2001, and Michael Bastian.

Carolina Herrera, who banned New York Times reporters from her show last year, will take home the big lifetime achievement award. Mayor Bloomberg even earned fashion honors: He’s receiving the Board of Director’s Special Tribute.

The awards show is on June 2 and The Cut will be there to bring you all the air kisses, self-seriousness, and Fordian chest hair you can handle. Click through for a full list of nominees.

Womenswear Designer of the Year
• Marc Jacobs
• Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein
• Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough of Proenza Schouler

Menswear Designer of the Year
• Tom Ford
• Thom Browne
• Michael Bastian

Accessory Designer of the Year
• Marc Jacobs
• Michael Kors
• Tory Burch

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
• Kate and Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte
• Alexander Wang
• Thakoon Panichgul

Swarovski Award for Menswear
• Scott Sternberg of Band of Outsiders
• Tim Hamilton
• Patrick Ervell

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
• Philip Crangi
• Joy Gryson
• Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry

International Award
• Dries Van Noten

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
• Carolina Herrera

Board of Director’s Special Tribute
• Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg

Eugenia Sheppard Award
• Candy Pratts Price of

CFDA to Honor Carolina Herrera [NYT]
CFDA Reveals Nominees [WWD]

Marc Jacobs, Tom Ford, and Tory Burch Nab CFDA Noms