run through

The CFDA Adds 28 New Designers, Reelects DVF

Diane Von FurstenbergPhoto: Getty Images

Today was a busy and important one for the Council of Fashion Designers of America. It met this afternoon to decide which new designers to add to their elite and fabulous circle and wound up welcoming 28 to their ranks. They include, naturally, a few designers who were nominated for or won CFDA awards this year, like Thakoon Panichgul (nominated for the Swarovski Womenswear Award), Michael Bastian (nominated for Emerging Menswear Designer), and Band of Outsiders designer Scott Sternberg (won the Emerging Menswear Category). The council will celebrate the new 28 with CFDA-style hazing (read: a party with expensive Champagne, fine hors d’oeuvre, and mingling at Elie Tahari’s house).

The council also unanimously reelected Diane Von Furstenberg to serve as its president for the coming year, which is a testament to the great job she’s doing. We need someone to push for healthy models and on-time runway shows, after all.

For a full list of the new designers, click through.

• Sophie Buhai and Lisa Mayock of Vena Cava
• Thakoon Panichgul of Thakoon
• Holly Dunlap of Hollywould
• Jenni Kayne
• Naeem Khan
• Sue Stemp
• Dana Foley and Anna Corinna Sellinger of Foley + Corinna
• Scott Sternberg of Band of Outsiders
• Amy Smilovic of Tibi
• Michael Bastian
• Philip Crangi
• Ron Anderson and David Rees of Tenthousandthings
• Andrew Buckler of Buckler
• Rachel Comey
• Erica Davis of Development
• Cheryl Finegan of Virgin, Saints & Angels
• Eunice Lee of Unis
• Fiona Kotur Marin of Kotur
• Malia Mills of Malia Mills Swimwear
• Sandra Muller of Lila Gems
• Robin Renzi of Me & Ro
• Brian Reyes
• Loree Rodkin
• Kara Ross
• Araks Yeramyan of Araks

28 Designers Become CFDA Members [WWD]

The CFDA Adds 28 New Designers, Reelects DVF