ballot box

Alexander Wang and Marc Jacobs Lead This Year’s CFDA Award Nominations

Alexander Wang’s career continues to skyrocket with the announcement of his CFDA Award nomination for Womenswear Designer of the Year. The honor is made all the more impressive by his fellow nominees, industry veterans Marc Jacobs and Donna Karan. Wang has already won a number of the industry’s most important awards: Last year, he won the CFDA’s Swarovski Award for Womenswear, which recognizes emerging talent; in 2009 he won the prestigious Swiss Textile Award; and in 2008 the Vogue/CFDA Fashion Fund.

Wang was also nominated for Accessory Designer of the Year, alongside Jacobs again, Proenza Schouler, and Alexis Bittar. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on June 7. The late Alexander McQueen will also be honored this year with the Board of Directors’ Special Tribute.

And for the record, though bloggers were asked to participate in the nomination process this year, we bloggers never received a ballot, though a CFDA spokesman told us he would request one on our behalf. However!’s fashion team is not without recognition by the high council: Shop-A-Matic editor Diana Tsui was sent a ballot, which she never asked for, but merrily submitted anyway. Below, a full list of nominees.

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Donna Karan
Alexander Wang

Menswear Designer of the Year
Michael Bastian
Tom Ford
David Neville & Marcus Wainwright for Rag & Bone

Accessory Designer of the Year
Alexis Bittar
Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler
Marc Jacobs

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Joseph Altuzarra
Prabal Gurung
Jason Wu

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Richard Chai
Patrik Ervell
Simon Spurr

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Eddie Borgo
Dana Lorenz
Alexander Wang

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Michael Kors

Eugenia Sheppard Award
Kim Hastreiter, Paper Magazine

International Award
Christopher Bailey for Burberry

Board of Directors’ Special Tribute
Alexander McQueen

Fashion Icon Award

Eleanor Lambert Award
Tonne Goodman, Vogue

Alexander Wang and Marc Jacobs Lead This Year’s CFDA Award Nominations