And the CFDA Winners Are …

The Council of Fashion Designers of America 2010 awards ceremony just wrapped up at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall. Among the highlights: a gorgeous tribute to the late Alexander McQueen, supermodel Iman taking home an honorary Fashion Icon Award and telling hubby David Bowie he’s not the only icon in the house anymore, a montage of Tim Gunn leading a gaggle of children on a fashion scavenger hunt, and one young designer pinching himself in disbelief when he won the Swarovski Award for Womenswear.


Womenswear Designer of the Year
The nominees: Alexander Wang, Donna Karan, Marc Jacobs
The winner: Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year
The nominees:Michael Bastian, David Neville and Marcus Wainwright for rag & bone, Tom Ford
The winner: David Neville and Marcus Wainwright for rag & bone

Accessory Designer of the Year
The nominees: Alexis Bittar, Marc Jacobs, Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler
The winner: Alexis Bittar

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
The nominees: Jason Wu, Joseph Altuzarra, Prabal Gurung
The winner: Jason Wu

Swarovski Award for Menswear
The nominees: Patrik Ervell, Richard Chai, Simon Spurr
The winner: Richard Chai

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
The nominees: Alexander Wang, Dana Lorenz, Eddie Borgo
The winner: Alexander Wang

Popular Vote
The winner:
Ralph Lauren (again!)

Honorary kudos also went to Michael Kors (Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by Anna Wintour), Paper editor and publisher Kim Hastreiter (the Eugenia Sheppard Award), Christopher Bailey for Burberry (International Award), and Vogue fashion director Tonne Goodman (Eleanor Lambert Award).

And the CFDA Winners Are …