Usual Suspects Nominated for 2013 CFDA Awards

The CFDA crew.
The CFDA crew. Photo: Jamie McCarthy/Getty Images

Last night, the CFDA announced this year’s nominees and honorees for the 2013 awards ceremony on June 3. As is often the case, most nominees have been in the mix before — Marc Jacobs, Proenza Schouler, and Alexander Wang in particular. One disappointment: There’s no fashion icon honoree for 2013. Presented to big names like Kate Moss, Lady Gaga, and Johnny Depp in the past, the award isn’t given out every year. But deeming a celebrity an “icon” can be a great way to get him or her to show up, so skipping it seems like a missed opportunity to get an extra famous person on the red carpet. (Maybe they’re still scarred by Depp’s last-minute bail last year.)

Also of note: Oscar de la Renta is getting an award! So, no Galliano jokes this year. Here are all the nominees.

Womenswear designer of the year: 
Marc Jacobs
Alexander Wang
Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez

Menswear designer of the year: 
Michael Bastian
Thom Browne
Duckie Brown’s Steven Cox and Daniel Silver

Accessories designer of the year:
Alexander Wang
Phillip Lim
Proenza Schouler’s McCollough and Hernandez

Swarovski award for emerging talent in womenswear:
Suno’s Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis
Creatures of the Wind’s Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters
Cushnie et Ochs’ Carly Cushnie and Michelle Ochs

Swarovski award for emerging talent in menswear:
Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder
and Public School’s Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne

Swarovski award for emerging talent in accessories:
Pamela Love
Jennifer Meyer
Irene Neuwirth

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Vera Wang

International Award: Givenchy’s Riccardo Tisci

Founders Award: Oscar de la Renta

Media Award: Tim Blanks of

Board of Directors’ Tribute Award: Costume designer Colleen Atwood

Usual Suspects Nominated for 2013 CFDA Awards