short lists

First Look: The Short List for the WGSN Global Fashion Awards

Photo: Imaxtree, Patrick McMullan, BFA

Conclusive proof, if needed, that not everyone in Britain is standing outside Kate’s hospital: the WGSN Global Fashion Awards 2013 short list has been announced tonight at a cocktail party in London.

Last year’s awards saw Victoria Beckham pick up the most notable gong, the Catrice Womenswear Designer Award; this year’s nominees are Raf Simons for Dior, Phillip Lim for 3.1 Phillip Lim, Guillaume Henry for Carven, Isabel Marant, and Erdem Moralioglu for Erdem.

Beckham is nominated again for a different award, in the iSKO Denim Design Team category for her denim range, competing against G-Star Raw, AG Jeans, Hudson, and MiH.

Oliver Spencer, Dries Van Noten, Christophe Lemaire, and Meadham Kirchhoff are short-listed for the Menswear Designer Award, which was won last year by Kim Jones for Louis Vuitton. The Footwear and Accessories Designer Award went to Charlotte Olympia in 2012; this year’s nominees are Sophie Hulme, Edgardo Osorio of Aquazurra, Nicholas Kirkwood, and Christian Louboutin.

Salma Hayek, Charlize Theron, and Christy Turlington have also picked up nominations for the Empiria Woman Award.

The awards will be held at London’s Victoria and Albert Museum on October 30, so stay tuned.

The full short list:

Catrice Womenswear Designer: Raf Simons for Dior; Phillip Lim for 3.1 Phillip Lim; Guillaume Henry for Carven; Isabel Marant; Erdem Moralioglu for Erdem

Womenswear Design Team: Topshop; Kmart (Australia); & Other Stories; Peter Alexander; Closed

Menswear Designer: Oliver Spencer; Dries Van Noten; Christophe Lemaire; Meadham Kirchhoff

Menswear Design Team: Bespoken; Acne; Ovadia and Sons; Ben Sherman

Accessories & Footwear Designer: Sophie Hulme; Christian Louboutin; Nicholas Kirkwood; Edgardo Osorio for Aquazurra

Preciosa Footwear & Accessories Design Team: Gandys; Clarks; Melissa; Absolute Black

Avery Dennison Emerging Fashion Brand: Angelys Balek; Emma J Shipley; Jacob Birge Vision; Jane Bowler

Empiria Woman Award: Livia Firth; Salma Hayek; Charlize Theron; Christy Turlington

Sustainable Design Team: JEANOLOGIA; Paper No. 9; H&M, Conscious Collection; Timberland, Earthkeepers® Collection; Orta Anadolu

iSKO Denim Design Team: G-Star RAW; A.G. Jeans; Hudson; Victoria Beckham Denim; MiH

Sports/Activewear Design Team: Fila; Polartec; Under Armour; Sweaty Betty

Intimates & Swim Design Team: We Are Handsome; Princesse Tam Tam; Von Follies; Seafolly

Kidswear Design Team: Miller; New Look 915; F&F Clothing at Tesco; Gap Kids; The Walt Disney Company

Best New Store/Refit: Bellerose in Brussels, Belgium; Monki Mitte in Berlin, Germany; PUMA in Osaka, Japan; Target in New York City; Karl Lagerfeld in Paris, France

Best Store: Harrods in London, U.K.; Colette in Paris, France; Evoluzione in Delhi, India; Kate Spade in New York City; Tsvetnoy Central Market in Moscow, Russia

Best Multi-Channel Retailer: Topshop; Warby Parker; Piperlime; Saks Fifth Avenue; John Lewis

E-store: Zappos; The Outnet; Lyst; Dafiti; Luisa Via Roma

Best Buying Team:;; Podium Market; Opening Ceremony

LYCRA® Future Designers Award Semi-Finalists: Hanna Lucatelli; Han Zhongshu; Chow Bohan; Shixuan Zhao; Alison Vincent; Irana Lazova; Patricia Clariza; Alejandra Perdomo; Daniela Larrea; Himani Harish; Silvia Silvia; Eva Lai; Lucy Gardner

Shop: The Cut's Best Bets

First Look: Short List for WGSN Fashion Awards