Bethann Hardison to Win CFDA Award

Photo: Billy Farrell/

While it’s still unclear if diversity on the runway is really improving, one thing is certain: What little progress we have seen over the past year is owed mostly to modeling-industry veteran and Diversity Coalition founder Bethann Hardison. The CFDA agrees. Yesterday, when the organization announced its 2014 list of honorees, Diane von Furstenberg revealed that Hardison — the “godmother of all the wonderful, beautiful models” — will receive the Founder’s Award for her work during the CFDA Awards on June 2. 

Both Tom Ford and Raf Simons will receive major awards this year, as well: Ford will take home the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, and Simons will nab the International Award.

Here are the rest of the nominees:

Womenswear Designer of the Year Award: Alexander Wang, Joseph Altuzarra of Altuzarra, and Marc Jacobs.

Menswear Designer of the Year: Maxwell Osborne & Dao-Yi Chow for Public School, Marcus Wainwright & David Neville for rag & bone, and Thom Browne.

Accessories Designer of the Year: Alexander Wang, Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCullough for Proenza Schouler, and Mary-Kate Olsen & Ashley Olsen for The Row.

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind, Rosie Assoulin, and Wes Gordon .

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Tim Coppens, Todd Snyder, and Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air.

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Irene Neuwirth, Jennifer Fisher, and Marc Alary.

Bethann Hardison to Win CFDA Award