amen

There Are No Gluten-Free Options at Holy Communion

Bad news for any Catholics with Celiac disease or those who are just trying that new cleanse everyone’s doing: The Vatican says that gluten-free communion wafers are a no-go.

Per a directive the Vatican’s Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments sent to bishops in June — which was then covered on Vatican Radio this past Saturday — “hosts that are completely gluten-free are invalid matter for the celebration of the Eucharist.”

According to the New York Times, “Low-gluten bread is allowed but there must be enough protein in the wheat to make it without additives.”

Related, Cool Pope Francis has yet to comment on whether or not it’s okay to use the communion wafers to make tiny avocado toasts.

There Are No Gluten-Free Options at Holy Communion